A simple understanding.

Life lessons are hard to come by. Self realization may take years to fully grasp. Finally accepting situations for what they may be, and moving on, can be even more of a challenge.

But it is needed to reach the full potential of the person you have the ability to be.

I have had a very hardtime with this throughout my life. Living in denial was a great way of just pretending life was better than it really was. This counted in areas towards my behavior, actions and relationships with friends and family.

Sometimes it’s hard to accept that we are not ideal, we cannot change people. We can only change ourselves. And this is what I have found myself doing.

I’ve been having a hard time accepting that my family does not stand behind me. But I need to remember that family is what you make. With that ideology in mind, my friends are my family. Their continuous love and support keep me going. I don’t know where I would be without any of them, and I hope they know this.

Things I need to keep telling myself:

    Accept that good things are deserved and will come to us if we allow them too.

    Make the change, take action, allow yourself the opportunity.

    Even if it seems that those who should support you do not, or that no one is on your side, someone is always there.

    People are there for you and want to see you succeed. And if all else fails, keep a level head and continue to push yourself.

    Prove all of those doubters wrong. It will take some time, but it will happen.

5 responses

Leave a Reply

