My Review of the Verizon Wireless Droid Eris

After coming home from Vegas during spring break, I was forced to buy a new phone. I went to the nearest Verizon Wireless store with purchasing a new Blackberry in mind. However, once entering the store, the saleswoman heavy pushed that I consider buying a Droid Eris.

After listening to the woman’s testimonials and playing with the display phone, I was sold. I took the phone home and was amazed at the phone’s multiple home screens and the thousands of applications available to use. As an individual who is addicted to social media and music, this phone was perfect for just that. The Droid Eris comes prepared to satisfy all of your Twitter and Facebook needs by having such applications preinstalled. The camera on the phone is fantastic and produces great quality pictures that are easy to upload to your Facebook account.

I had been very happy with my Droid until the alarm clock stopped working. As a college student, I am far too poor to invest in an actual alarm clock, and rely on my phone to wake me up in the morning (just like every other student). Instead of producing any sort of noise, like how it used to, the alarm only vibrates. As a result, I stopped waking up on the time originally desired. Also, the touch screen fails to recognize when I tap on it. I can’t even count how many times the phone has frozen and stopped working. My Blackberry Pearl never acted up that often.

I thought that mine was the only one which had done that, until a friend approached me after seeing we had the same phone. He immediately asked me if my alarm clock still worked, which of course it does not. He informed me how he had the exact same problem as I, and that everyone else he knew that had the phone were experiencing it as well.

Since I am following HTC on Twitter, and in their bio it states that if you have a question to direct it there, I asked them the following: “@htc I love my Droid; however, the alarm stopped making noise and only vibrates. Others with this phone have the same problem. What’s up?” I noticed that HTC had been responding back to its customers questions via Twitter, so I was expecting a response.

A couple days had passed and I still had not received any response from HTC. I directed another tweet at them saying: “@htc Nothing? Maybe I’ll switch back to my Blackberry then.” I felt this response was appropriate since HTC clearly ignored my question and was communicating with other followers on Twitter.

I personally believe that this application is vital to have working on any cell phone. iPhones and Blackberrys have always been incredibly dependable in regards to its alarm clocks. I find it absolutely appalling that HTC ignores such questions and does little to assure its customers that their questions and concerns are heard. How are consumers supposed to feel as if this is a worthy investment if basic applications fail?

The bottom line: if you are looking for a phone to take pictures, listen to music, and stay up-to-date with social media this is a great phone. However, if you are looking for a phone to fulfill all aspects of your life, this is not for you. I highly recommend that you stick to all other smartphones, since other companies clearly value its customer’s comments and critiques. I definitely am going back to Verizon wireless, returning this phone, and exchanging for a Blackberry Smartphone.

Make good use of your money and time. Don’t bother with HTC.

2 responses

  1. Hmm, that is quite unfortunate, and I’ve heard of the same complaints from others. I am even more let down that HTC is not assisting you with this.
    The funny issue is that HTC brought it upon themselves by creating the Sense UI, which has so far prevented the Eris from updating to Android 2.x, thus leaving it in Android’s dust.
    I would knock HTC for their lack of support, but you could install a different alarm from the App Market for free.
    I love my HTC G1, which is over a 1.5 years old. The silly part is that its running a newer version of Android than your Eris.

  2. Thank you for sharing this excellent information. Your web-site is so cool. I’m impressed by the info that you’ve on this site. It shows just how well you know this subject. Bookmarked this web page, and I’ll be back for more articles.

Leave a Reply

