My Letter to Duncan McDonald. Who am I?

Dear Professor McDonald:

Who am I? To be completely honest I have no idea. I could tell you the typical “My name is Lauren and I’m from Eugene,” or I could try to persuade you that I’m something I am not. I could list off my accomplishments, or talk about my failures. I have an opportunity right now to allow those who do not know me well to be familiar with me, and I don’t know how to utilize it.

It is a little interesting that this is assigned at this exact point and time in my life. I feel as though right now I have been going through a self-image crisis and am currently battling with being comfortable in my own skin. I have always been the same person it is just a matter of whether I showcased that or not. I have had my fair share of trust, confidence, and motivation issues; however, I have never let any of these destroy who I am as a person. I have hit rock bottom and picked myself back up. I know that I am in complete control of my future and my destiny. I am human. I make just as many mistakes as anyone else, if not more. But I know that I am capable of achieving anything and everything that I want as long as I apply myself.

I do not want to define who I am simply because I do not want to limit myself. What I can create and imagine cannot be described with a couple adjectives in one page. I want others to comprehend the type of person I am, and I’m willing to put forth the work to prove it. I hope that throughout this class I can confirm to you that I am a hard worker and that I will go far. Above all else, I hope to prove to myself that I am talented and that I have every possible quality needed to pass this class. I want to prove that I have changed and that I am a person with some intellect. I’m ready to take on anything this class has to offer. I am looking forward to the hard work, sweat, blood and tears; but more importantly I’m ready for the challenge.

With respect,

Lauren Short

Leave a Reply

